Saturday at last

I always planned to start a blog earlier (I mentioned this particular one has been here since 2009) but so many questions stopped me:

What would my first post be about?
Would it be personal or industry related?
Should I make it private?
Would anyone actually read it?
What would happen if I ended up in some cyber bitch fight?
Will people think I have terrible writing?
Will I keep it up for more than a week?

I suspect that a lot of people ask the same questions and I’m still not sure I’ve got answers for myself. I decided that the Blog Every Day of June challenge gave me a way to just leap in and avoid thinking too much about my first post. I no longer had to choose between some deep and meaningful introduction or a witty opening one-liner.

My plan for the blog (in as much as there is a plan) is that it will lean towards the library side of things, but for most of June at least I have too much reading to get through to do much intelligent writing of my own perhaps. This gives me an opportunity to write about myself, find a style, and you can all get to know me. Especially anyone who is only used to following what I say in snippets of 140 characters or less.

A private blog? Crazy talk. Years ago I had a private Live Journal. Three people had access. Secrets got out and it lead to a giant bust up of friendships and betrayals of trust. Nothing anywhere is secret, particularly online.

Will anyone read this? Ummm. Well that remains to be seen. It would be nice and feedback is helpful, but I just need to write more than I need people to read. As I type this I have 1996 twitter followers. 1996. Those crazy fools, whatever are they thinking? So, I think if I need attention from anyone I can go seek it over there.

Cyber bitch fights? Seriously, they’re so 2003. Or something. Internet forum days. Mind you I’ve seen some happen on blogs and from “Social Media Experts” at that. I’m a Librarian, I don’t have beef with anyone. Ahem.

Will people think I have terrible writing? Possibly. I know I tend to ramble. I did start off as an Arts student you know. I can write essays, reports, minutes, emails, tweets, etc., but I’m only new to this whole blogging thing so I’ll get there.

Keep this up for more than a week? WHAT? NO ONE TOLD ME JUNE WENT FOR A WHOLE MONTH, INTERROBANG. I make no promises. I’ll get through June and then try to come up with a PLAN. If you have any suggestions of any tips for managing a blog then I certainly welcome them.

So that’s that. I’m sure I’ll have more questions that I come up (WHAT was I THINKING?!; Why does WordPress HATE me?) as I go along.

Day 4 done. Coffee glugged. Time to get me to the post office and see which parcels await me there!

5 thoughts on “Saturday at last

  1. I have 2 blogs, one is library-ish related and the other (http://familylibrarian.wordpress.com) is more personal and has stuff about my life outside libraryland. The personal one is public in that anyone can read it (and indeed, it’s on the netvibes page for anyone to see) but you can’t find it via a google search – it’s locked down to search engines. Mostly this is to make it just a teeny bit harder for my ex to stumble across it – it doesn’t say anything it shouldn’t (my kids read it for heaven’s sake) and he could find it if he really wanted (and probably has) but I don’t feel like making it easy for him to access it.

    Sometimes I think about combining the 2, but I think I actually quite like keeping my interests separate.

    The keeping it going for a whole month I can’t help you with! Write some draft posts to keep for when you can’t think of anything to say and all you have to do is press ‘publish’ – LOOK! HERE IS ONE I PREPARED EARLIER!

  2. Thanks for your response! I’m impressed that you manage to keep 2 blogs going!

    Yes it took me awhile to decide what to do with the privacy of this blog. The thing that feels weird for me now is publicising it on twitter. For quite awhile now I’ve wanted to have a separate library twitter account, but I already tweet from 3 accounts and not sure I can be bothered. So I’m quite conscious that if/when I spruik my blog on twitter it’s going to ALL my followers, not just my library network. It makes me feel a whole lot more self conscious!

    I think I will start on the draft thing. I had quite a few ideas pop into my head today and I was trying to capture them all. I was thinking if I start to draft them into posts then at least I’ve got something to go on if I’m stuck for ideas one day. I’m sure it will get easier too as I get used to WordPress.

  3. There’s always to many excuses not to post … so I don’t.

    Kind of like exercise really: I keep procrastinating about it, finding excuses not to, etc, but when I finally get to doing it, I feel so good afterwards.

    Similarly, seeing others pick up the habit, and feel good about it, inspires me to try again…

  4. Well. At the moment I don’t seem to have time to see other people blogging to inspire me to keep blogging 😉 but you should start again.

    Once June is over this will certainly be more… enjoyable. At the moment I feel like …oh. I haven’t written my post. Now I HAVE to write it.

Leave a Reply

