Titles

I’m running out of titles for when I’m writing about nothing in particular. I will have to start coming up with something more original. Or abstract. Which is what I tend to do for passwords.

I would quite like to write about internet (and print) censorship/filtering in libraries because this piece in the Guardian has got my knickers in a knot about this again. I haven’t decided yet whether I will write it for the ALIA Sydney blog if I need to write another June post, or if I will write it here. Considering how it makes me seethe I suspect it might be safer to just write it over here, safely under my own name.

I’d also like to have another look at the whole “Unlibrary” concept, after being introduced on twitter to @raliel who runs a portable bookshop in the UK. Add to my to-do list.

Instead, today, I have sorted out a lot of papers that have been cluttering my room for months. I hate not having any proper storage space for this sort of thing any more. While it would be nice to, oh, just burn all this stuff about superannuation etc. I should really keep it. I also finally read ‘We need to talk about Kevin’ by Lionel Shriver. Now I know this wasn’t even mentioned in my 5 books meme that I blogged about the other day, but I’ve borrowed a few books from the other apartment that I want to get through before I have to hand them back. So I read the whole book today. Ok I skipped a few pages (blah blah blah) but it was mostly interesting. I remember it being so popular but I never actually paid much attention to what it was about.

I finished reading Junky last night and I know I was meant to start on Stephen Fry next, but the other books I borrowed are Sick Puppy – Carl Hiaasen; The Big Sleep – Raymond Chandler; In Cold Blood – Truman Capote; Haunted – Chuck Palahniuk; and Rant – Chuck Palahniuk. So I’m not sure which one I’ll start on next.

I also just watched ‘Hanna‘. I don’t think I’d heard of it but I stumbled across the movie and it sounded interesting so I added it to my list. Perhaps it wasn’t necessarily what I needed to watch on a Sunday evening, but it was… interesting. I’m not sure if I enjoyed it. Enjoyed is probably the wrong word. Maybe 2/3 of the way through I thought it struck me as remarkably similar to something else, and I was disappointed when I knew exactly what the last line was going to be. I HATE that. Don’t be so predictable. Really, if you can’t come up with an original idea then DON’T MAKE THE MOVIE.

Seems so simple really.

Leave a Reply

