Why do I blog?

I’ve been getting stuck on things to write about recently. It’s not that there aren’t a LOT of things that I want to write about, it’s just that I am stuck in that feeling that they deserve more than me just sitting here for 30 mins slapping something together without doing any research or referencing.

So I leapt at the opportunity to jump on a meme from Flexnib. It comes via Strawberry Singh, via @madradish.

Meme instructions: Copy and paste the following questions and answers to your post, delete my answers and input your own. Try not to swear at Berry in your head for having so many questions [14] this week and don’t forget to leave a comment in this meme’s post so others can come by and read your answers as well!

How long have you been blogging? In this format? I started in 2011 and then had a break. But I used to have a LJ and blogs on other platforms. I guess, probably for as long as blogging has been around. I just don’t stick with it for very long.

Why did you start blogging? I like to have an outlet for things and I like writing. I definitely think more clearly when I’m writing – more clearly again if it’s with pen and paper. I like interacting with people and getting feedback on things. I like sharing. There are a lot of things that I keep to myself, but I start to go a bit crazy if I don’t have a release.

I suppose one of the reasons I’ve become less regular at blogging is that I share so much via Twitter in particular that it can be a bit exhausting. I want to use my blog to write about things that matter to me in more detail, but I have a lot going on behind the scenes at the moment so building up to that is proving difficult.

How many times a week do you post an entry? I am aiming for every day in the hope that it will be every 2-3 days, and at least once a week.

How many different blogs do you read on a regular basis? It’s quite hard to tell. I follow a lot via Twitter and RSS readers and other services. A lot.

Do you comment on other people’s blogs? Probably less than I should? It depends on the format that I’m reading them in sometimes.

Do you keep track of how many visitors you have? Not in any detail. I do see the stats and I’m always intrigued by spikes and how people find my blog.

Did you ever regret a post that you wrote? I don’t think so.

Do you think your readers have a true sense of who you are based on your blog? Probably not. Partly because I don’t update it enough (ha) and partly because I often feel limited in what I can say. I’d be interested to know whether there is any difference in what people see between here and my ‘personality’ on Twitter.

Do you blog under your real name? Yes.

Are there topics that you would never blog about?  Not whole topics. I can’t rule out any particular topic. I can’t blog about work, but apart from that I would write on most things if they took my fancy. I would only blog about them if I felt I could do them justice though.

What is the theme/topic of your blog? Library type stuff, in theory. I haven’t done much blogging about that recently though.

Do you have more than one blog? If so, why? Not at the moment.

What have you found to be the benefits of blogging? It starts a lot of conversations. Not just from my blog, but from reading what other people are writing about. Sometimes I have changed my opinion on things from reading something from another perspective. Most of the conversations from my blog happen offline, which is fine with me. I just like to communicate.

So, why do you continue to blog? Like I said, I enjoy sharing, and I enjoy having a forum to write and get things out of my head. If things ever settle down I hope to start writing in more depth. I just want to keep in the habit, and make sure that I remember how to write in more than 140 characters.

One thought on “Why do I blog?

  1. Pingback: Monday Meme: Why do I blog? | Bun-toting Librarian

Leave a Reply

